Greece Private & Personalized Tours | Deep Blue Tours
Ancient Olympia Corinth Canal - Ancient Corinth Meteora Monastery of Hosios Loukas Mount Parnassus-Arachova-Delphi Mycenae-Nafplio-Epidavros

MAINLAND GREECE TOURS

PELOPONNESE TOURS

Meteora

In a region of almost inaccessible sandstone peaks, monks settled on these 'columns of the sky' from the 11th century onwards. Twenty-four of these monasteries were built, despite incredible difficulties, at the time of the great revival of the eremetic ideal in the 15th century. Their 16th-century frescoes mark a key stage in the development of post-Byzantine painting. 'Suspended in the air' (the meaning of Meteora in Greek), these monasteries represent a unique artistic achievement and are one of the most powerful examples of the architectural transformation of a site into a place of retreat, meditation and prayer. The Metéora is included on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

Monasteries' Visiting Hours

St. Stephen's Nunnery: 09.00 - 13.00 & 15.00 - 17.00 , Mondays closed

Great Meteoron Monastery: Daily :09.00 - 15.00, Tuesdays closed

Roussanou Monastery: 09.00 - 17.45, Wednesdays closed

Holy Trinity Monastery: 09.00 - 17.00, Thursdays closed

Varlaam Monastery: 09.00 - 16.00, Fridays closed

St. Nikolaos Anapafsas Monastery: 09.00 - 15.30, Fridays closed

Admission Fee

For all monasteries : 3 €

Hosios Loukas Monastery

Hosios Loukas is an historic walled monastery situated near the town of Distomo, in Boeotia, Greece. It is one of the most important monuments of Middle Byzantine architecture and art, and has been listed on UNESCO's World Heritage Sites.

The monastery of Hosios Loukas is situated at a scenic site on the slopes of Mount Helicon. It was founded in the early 10th century by the hermit, Venerable (Greek: Hosios) St. Luke (Greek: Lukas), whose relics are kept in the monastery to this day.

The main shrine of the monastery is the tomb of St. Luke, originally situated in the vault, but later placed at the juncture of the two churches. The monastery derived its wealth (including funds required for construction) from the fact that the relics of St. Luke were said to have exuded myron, a sort of perfumed oil which produced healing miracles. Pilgrims hoping for miraculous help were encouraged to sleep by the side of the tomb, in order to be healed by incubation. The mosaics around the tomb represent, not only St. Luke himself, but also hegumen Philotheos offering a likeness of the newly-built church to the saint.

The monastery’s two large churches (the Church of Panagia and the Katholikon), its Crypt, belfry, monk’s cells and other buildings, all devoted to the local, miracle-making Hosios, have a unique standing as they are considered paragons among all 11th century monuments in Greece.

Opening Hours

Tue - Sun: 09.00 - 17.00, Mondays closed

Museum Admission Fee

Full: 3 € , Reduced: 2 €

Mount Parnassus

Mount Parnassus, also Parnassos, is a mountain of limestone in central Greece that towers above Delphi, north of the Gulf of Corinth, and offers scenic views of the surrounding olive groves and countryside. According to Greek mythology. This mountain was sacred to Apollo and the Corycian nymphs, and the home of the Muses. The mountain was also favored by the Dorians. There is a theory that Parna- derived from the same root as the word in Luwian meaning House.

Parnassus today

Today, the slopes of Mount Parnassus are the location of two ski centres. The Parnassos Ski Centre is composed of two sections, Kellaria and Fterolakka, which together make up the largest ski centre in Greece.

Arachova

The village of Arachova is renowned for its wine, cheese and sheepskin products. The area around Arachova is mainly grasslands and rocky landscape with a few bushes. It sits on a mountain which is located in the south and the Parnassus mountains in the north. It sits above the valley where a river flows to Livadeia and the Cephissus River.
Arachova is a touristic attraction because of the proximity to popular Delphi, but was developed in the late 20th century with a ski resort.

Ancient Delphi

Delphi is both, an archaeological site and a modern town in Greece on the south-western spur of Mount Parnassus in the valley of Phocis.

In Greek mythology, Delphi was the site of the Delphic oracle, the most important oracle in the classical Greek world, and a major site for the worship of the god Apollo.
The site of Delphi is located in lower central Greece, on multiple plateaux/terraces along the slope of Mount Parnassus, and includes the Sanctuary of Apollo, the site of the ancient Oracle. Delphi was thought of by the Greeks as the middle of the entire Earth.

The Main entrance

Was once a market place (agora) where religious objects could be bought.

Sacred Way

Leading to the Temple of Apollo, the path was lined up with up to 3,000 statues and treasuries, built by city-states to house their people’s offerings.

The Rock of the Sibyl

The Sibyl rock is a pulpit-like outcrop of rock and marks the place where Delphi’s first prophetess pronounced her oracles.

The Sanctuary of Apollo

Also known as the Sacred Precinct, it is located at the heart of the complex. The temple has stood on this site since the 6th century BC. It is entered through an agora from which the Sacred Way winds through the ruins of memorials and treasuries.

The Theatre

The ancient theatre at Delphi was built further up the hill from the Temple of Apollo giving spectators a view of the entire sanctuary and the valley below. It was originally built in the 4th century BC but was remodeled on several occasions since its 35 rows can seat 5,000 spectators.

The Archaeological Museum of Delphi

The Archaeological Museum of Delphi, one of the most important in Greece, exhibits the history of the Delphic sanctuary, site of the most famous ancient Greek oracle. Its rich collections are comprised primarily of architectural sculpture, statues and minor objects donated to the sanctuary. These reflect its religious, political and artistic activities from its early years in the eighth century BC to its decline in Late Antiquity.

Opening Hours


Daily: 08.00 - 19.00 (last entrance 18.30)

Admission Fee

Full: € 6, Reduced: € 3 
Special Ticket package: Full: € 9, Reduced: € 5 , valid for: Delphi, Delphi Archaeological Museum

Free Admission Days

6 March [in memory of Melina Mercouri]
5 June [International Enviroment Day]
18 April [International Monuments Day]
18 May [International Museums Day]
The last weekend of September annually [European Heritage Days]
Every first Sunday from November 1st to March 31st
27 September, International Tourism Day
28 October

Reduced Admission 

a.) Greek citizens and citizens of other Member - States of the European Union aged over 65 years old by showing their ID card or passport.
b.) Students of Higher Education Institutes and equivalent Schools from countries outside the EU by showing their student ID.
c.) The accompanying parents on educational visits of elementary schools.

Free Admission

a. ) Cultural Card holders
b.) Persons accompanying blind and disabled
c.) The escorting teachers of schools and institutions of elementary, middle school, high school, university and graduate level education during their visits
d.) University students and students at Technological Educational Institutes or equivalent schools of Member - States of the European Union and students at Schools of Tourist Guides, by showing their student ID
e.) Young people, under the age of 18, after demonstrating the Identity Card or passport to confirm the age

Holidays

1 January: closed; 25 March: closed; 1 May: closed; Greek Orthodox Easter: closed; 25/26 December: closed 

Delphi Surroundings

Stadium

The stadium is located further up the hill, beyond the Sacred Way and the Theatre. It was originally built in the 5th century BC but, was altered in later centuries. It could seat 6500 spectators and the track was 177 metres long and 25.5 metres wide.

Sanctuary of Athena Pronaia

At the sanctuary’s entrance stand the ruins of a 4th century BC temple dedicated to Athena. The circular Tholos at the sanctuary of Athena Pronaia is a circular building that was constructed between 380 and 360 BC.

Gymnasium

The gymnasium, which is half a mile away from the main sanctuary, was a series of buildings used by the youth of Delphi. The building consisted of two levels: a stoa on the upper level providing open space, and a palaestra, pool and baths on lower floor. These pools and baths were said to have magical powers, and imparted the ability to communicate to Apollo himself.

Castalian spring

The sacred spring of Delphi lies in the ravine of the Phaedriades. It is believed that before entering the Sacred Precinct, everyone visiting Delphi for religious purposes was required to purify themselves in the clear, icy waters of the Castalian Spring. The Oracle Pythia would also wash here before making her pronouncements.

Ancient Olympia


Sanctuary of Zeus

In western Peloponnese, in the beautiful valley of the Alpheios river, lies the most celebrated sanctuary of ancient Greece. Dedicated to Zeus, the father of the gods, Olympia became the most important religious and athletic centre in Greece. Its fame rests upon the Olympic Games, the greatest national festival and a highly prestigious one world-wide, which was held every four years to honour Zeus.

The Altis

The Altis, the sacred enclosure and core of the sanctuary, with its temples, cult buildings and treasuries, occupies the centre of the site.

Temple of Zeus at Olympia

The massive temple of Zeus, the most important building in the Altis, standing in its very centre, is the largest temple in the Peloponnese.

Temple of Hera at Olympia

The temple of Hera, one of the oldest monumental temples in Greece, stands in the north-west corner of the sacred precinct of the Altis.

Ancient stadium of Olympia

The stadium of Olympia, situated east of the sacred Altis enclosure, was where the ancient Olympic Games and the Heraia, the women's games in honour of Hera, were held.

Workshop of Pheidias

West of the sacred enclosure, directly opposite the temple of Zeus, was the workshop of Pheidias where the great sculptor crafted the gigantic chryselephantine statue of Zeus, listed as one of the Seven Wonders of the ancient world.

Archaeological Museum of Olympia

The Archaeological Museum of Olympia, one of the most important museums in Greece, presents the long history of the most celebrated sanctuary of antiquity, the sanctuary of Zeus, father of both gods and men, where the Olympic games were born.

Opening Hours

Daily: 08.00 - 20.00, last admission 20' prior to closing

Admission Fee

Full: € 6, Reduced: € 3
Special ticket package: Full: € 9 , Reduced: € 5
valid for Archaeological Museum of Olympia, Olympia

Free Admission Days

5 June [International Enviroment Day].
18 April [International Monuments Day].
18 May [International Museums Day].
The last weekend of September annually [European Heritage Days].

Holidays

1 January: closed
25 March: closed
Greek Orthodox Good Friday: 12.00 - 17.00
Greek Orthodox Easter: closed 
1 May: closed
25/26 December: closed

Reduced Admission 

Persons possessing a free admission card.
The accompanying parents on educational visits of elementary schools.
The escorting teachers of schools and institutions of elementary, middle school, high school, university and graduate level education during their visits.

Free Admission 

Cultural Card holders.
Greek citizens and citizens of other Member - States of the European Union aged over 65 years old by showing their ID card or passport.
Journalists with a journalist identity card.
Members of Societies and Associations of Friends of Museums and Archaeological Sites throughout Greece with the demonstration of certified membership card.
Members of the ICOM-ICOMOS.
Persons accompanying blind and disabled.
Students of Higher Education Institutes and equivalent Schools from countries outside the EU by showing their student ID.
The official guests of the Greek government, with the approval of the General Director of Antiquities.
Tourist guides after demonstrating their professional identity of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.
University students and students at Technological Educational Institutes or equivalent schools of Member - States of the European Union and students at Schools of Tourist Guides, by showing their student ID.
Young people, under the age of 18, after demonstrating the Identity Card or passport to confirm the age.

Corinth Canal

The Corinth Canal is a canal that connects the Gulf of Corinth with the Saronic Gulf in the Aegean Sea. It cuts through the narrow Isthmus of Corinth and separates the Peloponnesian peninsula from the Greek mainland, thus effectively making the former an island. The builders dug the canal through the Isthmus at sea level; no locks are employed. It is 6.4 kilometres (4.0 mi) in length and only 21.3 metres (70 ft) wide at its base, making it inaccessible for most modern ships. Today, it has little economic importance.

Ancient Corinth

Corinth, or Korinth was a city-state (polis) on the Isthmus of Corinth, the narrow stretch of land that joins the Peloponnesus to the mainland of Greece, roughly halfway between Athens and Sparta. The ruins of ancient Corinth, a short drive from the modern city of Corinth, are spread around the base of the rock of Acrocorinth, which forms a natural acropolis for the city. Most of the surviving buildings are Roman rather than Greek, dating from the city's prosperous age after Caesar sacked and rebuilt much of the original Greek city. Much of the city has been toppled by recurring earthquakes over the centuries.

Acrocorinth

The acropolis of ancient Corinth, is a monolithic rock overseeing the ancient city of Corinth, Greece. On theAcrocorinth itself are ruins of the Temple of Aphrodite, of which little remains. The Temple of Aphrodite had more than 1,000 sacred prostitutes at one time, exemplifying the ancient city's reputation for luxury and vice. Also, on Acrocorinth are the ruins of a stone minaret and ancient defensive walls.

Temple of Apollo

The most notable ruin of ancient Corinth is the 6th-century BC Temple of Apollo, built on a hill overlooking the remains of the Roman marketplace (agora). Seven of the original 38 Doric columns still stand, and it is one of the oldest stone temples in Greece. The temple was still functioning at the time of Paul (50s AD) but, was eventually destroyed by earthquakes.

The Asklepieion

Located inside the city wall, the Asklepieion was the sanctuary of the god of healing with a small temple (4th century BC). It is set in a colonnaded courtyard with a series of dining rooms in a second courtyard. Terra-cotta votive offerings representing afflicted body parts (hands, legs, breasts, genitals, and so on) were found in the excavation of the Asklepieion, many of which are displayed in the museum.

Archaeological Museum of Ancient Corinth

The museum contains a number of artifacts of religious interest, including inscriptions of Gallio and Erastus, both mentioned in the Book of Acts; a synagogue inscription, menorah reliefs, and votive offerings of terracotta body parts to Asklepios.

Opening Hours

Daily: 08.00 - 20.00

Admission Fee

Full: €6, Reduced: €3

Mycenae

In the second millennium BC Mycenae was one of the greatest centres of Greek civilization, a military stronghold, which dominated much of southern Greece. The period of Greek history from about 1600 BC to about 1100 BC is called Mycenaean in reference to Mycenae.
Great Cyclopean walls surround the almost triangular acropolis, which is accessed from the northwest through the famous Lion Gate, the symbol of the Mycenaean rulers' power.
The myths related to the history of Mycenae have inspired poets and writers over many centuries, from the Homeric epics and the great tragedies of the Classical period to contemporary literary and artistic creation.

Treasury of Atreus

The Treasury of Atreus or Tomb of Agamemnon is an impressive "tholos" tomb on the Panagitsa Hill at Mycenae, Greece, constructed during the Bronze Age around 1250 BC. The lintel stone above the doorway weighs 120 tons, the largest in the world. The tomb was used for an unknown period.

Archaeological Site of Mycenae

Opening hours

Daily: 08.00 - 20.00

Archaeological Museum of Mycenae

Opening hours

Daily: 08.00 - 20.00

Admission Fee 

Full: €8, Reduced: € 4 , valid for the Archaeological Museum of Mycenae, Mycenae, Treasure of Atreus

Nafplion

Nafplio is a seaport town in the Peloponnese in Greece that has expanded up the hillsides near the north end of the Argolic Gulf. The town was the capital of the First Hellenic Republic, from the start of the Greek Revolution in 1821 until 1834. Nafplio is now the capital of the regional unit of Argolis.

Syntagma Square

Syntagma meaning Constitution is the central and biggest square in Nafplion.
Laid with a beautiful white marble, this spacious square is surrounded by period buildings such as the Turkish mosque, The National Bank and the Armory, as well as the First Parliament building. Coming off the square, there is the "Megalos Dromos" a buyer’s delight with a variety of unique souvenirs, boutiques and jewellery shops. With its' selection of cafe-bars and a wonderful view of the Palamidi Fortress, this square is a preferred and admired place to relax.

First Parliament Building

On to one side of Constitution Square is the Parliament Building, which was originally built in 1730 for use as a Mosque. 
After the Victory of the Greek War of Independence in1821, it was to become the housing for the 1st Liberated Greek Parliament. 
Today the 1st Parliament Building has been restored and is used for conferences and cultural exhibitions.

St. Spyridon Church

The Saint Spyridon church can be found hiding in one of the small back alleyways of the Old City. This church played a very important part of local and national modern history as this is the place Ioannis Capodistrias, the first governor of the newly liberated Greece was assassinated in 1831. Capodistrias accomplishments were many. Apart from bringing an end to the expanding crime wave, he was also responsible for creating the first modern currency and the National Bank of Greece. Many of the local powerful and aristocratic families didn’t agree with him and on the 27th of September, 1831, he was assassinated on his way to church. This unfortunate end to a great war hero brought chaos to the country until King Otto descended onto Nafplion taking the capital back with him to Athens.
Bullet holes of the assassination can still be found behind a glass frame at the entrance of the church.

Fortress of Palamidi

Dominating the town of Nafplion is the Palamidi fortress which is named after Palamedes, who was a local hero of the Trojan War. The imposing fortress is lit up at night, turning it into an almost magical site.
Strategically built on the highest point 216 meters high, the fortress was first constructed by the Franks and completed by the Venetians from the late 1600’s to the early 1700's.
Inside the fortress you will find the small Church of St. Andrew, built in one of the bastions of the fortress and in another bastion is the prison of Theodoros Kolokotronis, a hero of the Greek Revolution.

Opening Hours

Monday - Sunday: 08.00 - 20.00

Admission Fee

Full: €4, Reduced: €2

Bourtzi Castle

The small islet named the Bourtzi can be found resting in the harbour of Nafplion. The fortress was first designed as a fortified stronghold in the 1400's. More recently,  the fortress has been used as a variety of tourist attractions including a casino and a hotel.
Small taxi-boats will take you over for a visit to the Bourtzi leaving and returning frequently from the harbour front.

Arvanitia Walk

The Arvanitia walk takes in some breathtaking views including the Argolic Gulf. Approximately 1km long the walk is pedestrianized and easy going. 
At the beginning of the walk from the harbour way, there is the small and pretty church of the Virgin Mary of The Cave.

Ancient Tyrins

A very short distance out of Nafplion is the famous archaeological site of Ancient Tyrins. It is a Mycenaean built citadel, which dates back to early Greek Bronze Age and came to its full glory in 1400 to 1200 BC.

Epidaurus

Epidaurus was a small city (polis) in ancient Greece, at the Saronic Gulf. Reputed to be the birthplace of Apollo's son Asclepius, the healer, Epidaurus was known for its sanctuary situated about five miles (8 km) from the town, as well as its theater, which is once again in use today. The theatre is marveled for its exceptional acoustics, which permit almost perfect intelligibility of unamplified spoken word from the proscenium or skênê to all 15,000 spectators, regardless of their seating.

Sanctuary of Asklepios / Archaeological Museum of Asklepeion Epidaurus

Opening Hours

Mon-Sun: 08.00-20.00

Admission Fee

Full: 6 € , Reduced : 3€, valid for Archaeological Museum and Sanctuary of Asklepios at Epidaurus. The Theater is part of the archaeological site of the Sanctuary of Asklepios. 

Tolo

Tolo is the most tourist developed resort close to Nafplion. It remains especially popular with tourists because of its crystal, sandy beach, Psili Ammos.