Athens Private Tours with luxurious Taxis | Deep Blue Tours
Acropolis of Athens and its Surroundings Ancient Agora - Roman Forum - Museum Kaisariani Monastery Marathon - Museum - Lake - St. Ephraim - Brauron Mount Lycabettus - St. Dionisios Areopagitis National Archaeological Museum of Athens National Library - Academy of Athens - University of Athens Panathenaic Stadium Plaka - Monastiraki Sounio - Temple of Poseidon - Lake Vouliagmeni Syntagma Square - Greek Parliament Temple of Olympian Zeus - Arch of Hadrian

ATTICA TOURS



The Acropolis of Athens and its Surroundings

The Parthenon – The Jewel in the crown of Athens

The Acropolis of Athens is an ancient citadel located on a high rocky outcrop above the city of Athens and contains the remains of several ancient buildings of great architectural and historic significance. The most famous being the Parthenon. The word acropolis comes from the Greek words ἄκρον (akron, "edge, extremity") and πόλις [polis, "city"]. Although, there are many other acropoleis in Greece, the significance of the Acropolis of Athens is such that it is commonly known as "The Acropolis" without qualification.

The Acropolis was formally proclaimed as the preeminent monument on the European Cultural Heritage list of monuments on 26 March 2007.

Admission Fee

Full: €12, Reduced: €6
Tickets available only at the ticket office.
Special ticket package: Full: €12, Reduced: €6
In case the special ticket package is issued at a site different than Acropolis, please exchange the Acropolis coupon with a free-pass coupon at the local ticket office upon your arrival.
Valid for: Acropolis of Athens, Ancient Agora of Athens, Archaeological Museum of Kerameikos, Hadrian's Library, Kerameikos, Museum of the Ancient Agora, North slope of Acropolis, Olympieio, Roman Agora of Athens, South Slope of Acropolis

Opening Hours

Daily 08.00 - 20.00 , last admission 19.30

Free Admission days

6 March [in memory of Melina Mercouri]
5 June [International Enviroment Day]
18 April [International Monuments Day]
18 May [International Museums Day]
The last weekend of September annually [European Heritage Days]
27 September, International Tourism Day

Reduced Admission 

a.) Greek citizens and citizens of other Member - States of the European Union aged over 65 years old by showing their ID card or passport.
b.) Students of Higher Education Institutes and equivalent Schools from countries outside the EU by showing their student ID
c.) The accompanying parents on educational visits of elementary schools.

Free Admission 

a.) Cultural Card holders
b.) Journalists with a journalist identity card
c.) Persons accompanying blind and disabled
d.) The escorting teachers of schools and institutions of elementary, middle school, high school, university and graduate level education during their visits
e.) The official guests of the Greek government, with the approval of the General Director of Antiquities.
f.) University students and students at Technological Educational Institutes or equivalent schools of Member - States of the European Union and students at Schools of Tourist Guides, by showing their student ID
g.) Young people, under the age of 18, after demonstrating the Identity Card or passport to confirm the age

Holidays

1 January: closed
6 January: 08.00-15.00
Shrove Monday: 08.00-15.00
25 March: closed
Greek Orthodox Good Friday: closed until 12:00
Greek Orthodox Holy Saturday: 08.00-15.00
Greek Orthodox Easter: closed
Greek Orthodox Easter Monday: 08.00-15.00
1 May: closed
Holy Spirit day: 08.00 - 15.00
15 August: 08.00 - 15.00
28 October: 08.00-15.00
25 December: closed
26 December: closed

Archaeological remains

The entrance to the Acropolis was a monumental gateway called the Propylaea. To the south of the entrance is the tiny Temple of Athena Nike. At the centre of the Acropolis is the Parthenon or Temple of Athena Parthenos (Athena the Virgin). East of the entrance and north of the Parthenon is the temple known as the Erechtheum. South of the platform that forms the top of the Acropolis there are also the remains of an outdoor theatre called Theatre of Dionysus. A few hundred metres away, there is the now partially reconstructed Odeon of Herodes Atticus.

Just off the entrance of the Acropolis is the Areopagus or Areios Pagos , the "Rock of Ares", also known as “Mars Hill”, which in classical times functioned as the high Court of Appeal for criminal and civil cases in Athens. This is where Apostle Paul first preached to the Athenians.

Philopappos Monument

The Philopappos Monument is an ancient Greek mausoleum and monument dedicated to Gaius Julius Antiochus Epiphanes Philopappos or Philopappus (65–116 AD), a prince from the Kingdom of Commagene. It is located on Mouseion Hill in Athens, Greece, southwest of the Acropolis. The hill is today known as Philopappos Hill.

The Theatres of the Acropolis

Odeon of Herodes Atticus

The Odeon of Herodes Atticus is a stone theatre structure located on the south slope of the Acropolis of Athens. It was built in 161 AD by the Athenian magnate Herodes Atticus in memory of his wife, Aspasia Annia Regilla. It was originally a steep-sloped amphitheater with a three-story stone front wall and a wooden roof made of expensive, cedar of Lebanon timber. It was used as a venue for music concerts with a capacity of 5,000.

Theatre of Dionysus

The Theatre of Dionysus Eleuthereus is a major open-air theatre and one of the earliest preserved in Athens. It was used for festivals in honor of the god Dionysus. It is sometimes confused with the later and better-preserved Odeon of Herodes Atticus, located nearby on he southwest slope of the Acropolis.

The New Acropolis Museum

The Acropolis Museum is an archaeological museum focused on the findings of the archaeological site of the Acropolis of Athens. The museum was built to house every artifact found on the rock and on its feet, from the Greek Bronze Age to Roman and Byzantine Greece. It also lies on the archaeological site of Makrygianni and the ruins of a part of Roman and early Byzantine Athens.

The museum opened to the public on June 21, 2009. Nearly 4,000 objects are exhibited over an area of 14,000 square metres.

Opening Hours

Mon: 08.00 - 16.00, last admission 15.30
Tue-Sun: 08.00 - 20.00, last admission 19.30
Fri: 08.00 - 22.00, last admission 21.30

Admission Fee

General admission fee: 5 €
Reduced admission fee: 3 €

Free admission

a.) Students from Higher Education Institutions, from non EU countries, with current student identification card or International Student Identity Card (ISIC).
b.) Young persons under 18 years of age, from non EU countries, with current identification card to confirm age. 
c.) Greek Senior citizens and Senior citizens from EU countries, 65 years of age and over, with current identification card to confirm age.

Ancient Agora of Athens

The Ancient Agora of Classical Athens [aka Forum of Athens in older texts] is the best-known example of an ancient Greek agora, located to the northwest of the Acropolis and is bounded on the south, by the hill of the Areopagus and on the west, by the hill known as the Colonus Agoraeus.

The Roman Forum of Athens

The Roman Forum of Athens is located to the north of the acropolis and to the east of the original classical Greek agora.

Museum of the Ancient Agora

The museum is housed in the Stoa of Attalos, and its exhibits are connected with the Athenian democracy. The collection of the museum includes clay, bronze and glass objects, sculptures, coins and inscriptions from the 7th to the 5th century BC, as well as, pottery of the Byzantine period and the Turkish occupation.

Hadrian's Library

Hadrian's Library was created by Roman Emperor Hadrian in AD 132 on the north side of the Acropolis of Athens.

Tower of the Winds

The Tower of the Winds, also called horologion [timepiece], is an octagonal Pentelic marble clocktower on the Roman agora in Athens. The structure features a combination of sundials, a water clock and a wind vane. It was supposedly built by Andronicus of Cyrrhus around 50 BC, but according to other sources, it may have been constructed in the 2nd century BC, before the rest of the forum.

Kaisariani Monastery [Mount Hymettos]

The Monastery lies at a short distance to the east of Athens, on a hillside at the foot of Mt. Hymettos. It is enclosed by a high wall with two gates, one on the east and one on the west side. The catholicon was built in the late 11th -early 12th century and was dedicated to the Presentation of the Virgin to the Temple. It is a cross-in-square, four-column church, with a dome, and its walls are built in the cloisonne masonry with poor brick ornaments. The domed narthex was added in the 17th century. At about the same time, the barrel-vaulted chapel to the north, dedicated to Aghios Antonios, was also added.

Admission Fee

Full: €2, Reduced: €1

Free Admission Days

6 March [in memory of Melina Mercouri]
5 June [International Enviroment Day]
18 April [International Monuments Day]
18 May [International Museums Day]
The last weekend of September annually [European Heritage Days]
27 September, International Tourism Day
Sundays in the period between 1 November and 31 March
National Holidays

Reduced Admission 

a.) Persons possessing a free admission card
b.) The accompanying parents on educational visits of elementary schools.
c.) The escorting teachers of schools and institutions of elementary, middle school, high school, university and graduate level education during their visits

Free Admission

a.) Greek citizens and citizens of other Member - States of the European Union aged over 65 years old with the demonstration of their identification card or passport.
b.) Persons accompanying blind and disabled.
c.) Students of Higher Education Institutes and equivalent Schools from countries outside the EU by showing their student identification card.
d.) University students and students at Technological Educational Institutes or equivalent schools of Member - States of the European Union and students at Schools of Tourist Guides, by showing their student ID.Young people, under the age of 18, after demonstrating the Identity Card or passport to confirm the age.

Opening Hours

Daily: 08.30 - 15.00, Mondays closed 

Holidays

March 25

Marathon, Greece

Marathon is a town in Greece, the site of the battle of Marathon in 490 BC, in which the heavily outnumbered Athenian army defeated the Persians. The tumulus or burial mound [Greek Τύμβοςtymbos, i.e. tomb], also called the "Soros," for the 192 Athenian dead that was erected near the battlefield remains a feature of the coastal plain. The Tymbos is now marked by a marble memorial stele and surrounded by a small park.

Archaeological Museum of Marathon

The Museum was founded in 1975 in an idyllic rural location within close distance to the renown tumulus of Marathon. The exhibits cover a time span from the Prehistoric to the Late Roman era and derive from the excavated sites - mainly cemeteries - of the region.

Opening hours

Tue - Sun:  08:30-15:00

Lake Marathon

Lake Marathon or the Marathon Reservoir is a water supply reservoir formed from the construction of Marathon Dam at the junction of Charadros and Varnavas Torrents near the town of Marathon, Greece. It was the primary water supply for Athens from 1931 until 1959. In 1959 water from Yliki Lake became available, and water from Mornos Reservoir became available in 1981.

Monastery of St. Ephraim

The monastery of St. Ephraim in Nea Makri is a place of pilgrimage of a saint who was known for his miracles and today it attracts thousands of believers every year, especially people looking to cure diseases. St. Ephraim of Nea Makri or St. Ephraim of Mount Amomon who, as believed, had lived from 1384 to 1426, is venerated as a martyr and miracle-maker Saint by many Greek Orthodox Christians in Greece. His status as a saint is controversial, as there are no sources testifying his existence as an historical person. Believers regard him as a "newly revealed" saint, whose existence is a matter of divine revelation rather than historical proof.

Brauron

The sanctuary of Goddess Artemis at Brauron is an early sacred site on the eastern coast of Attica, near the Aegean Sea in a small inlet. The sanctuary contained a small temple of Artemis, a unique stone bridge, cave shrines, a sacred spring, and a pi-shaped (Π) stoa that included dining rooms for ritual feasting.

Mount Lycabettus

Mount Lycabettus, also known as LycabettosLykabettos or Lykavittos pronounced [likavitos], is a Cretaceous limestone hill in Athens, Greece. At 277 meters (908 feet) above sea level, the hill is the highest point in the city that surrounds it. Pine trees cover its base, and at its two peaks are the 19th century Chapel of St. George, a theatre, and a restaurant.

The hill also has a large open-air theater at the top, which has housed many Greek and international concerts.

The ultimate "balcony" view which overlooks Athens!

The Church of Saint Dionysios Areopagitis

The Church of Saint Dionysios Areopagitis is dedicated to the first Bishop and Patron Saint of Athens.
The construction of the church began in 1923 and was completed in 1931. It has a cross- in-square shape.

National Archaeological Museum of Athens

The National Archaeological Museum of Athens is the largest archaeological museum in Greece and one of the most important museums in the world devoted to ancient Greek art. It was founded at the end of the 19th century to house and protect antiquities from all over Greece, thus displaying their historical, cultural and artistic value.

Opening Hours

Mon: 13.00 - 20.00
Tue - Sun: 09.00 - 16.00

Admission Fee

Full: 7 €, reduced: 3 €

Free Admission

a.) visitors under 18 years old [by showing their I.D. or Passport]. 
b.) students from E.U. countries [by showing their University Card]. 
c.) admission card holders [Free Entrance Card, Culture Card, ICOM, ICOMOS]. 
d.) journalists [by showing their journalist card]. 
e.) guides [by showing their professional card]. 
f.) members of Societies of Friends of Museums and Archaeological Sites of Greece, by showing their membership card. 
g.) escorts of blind people and escorts of persons with mobility difficulties. 

Free Admission Days

6 March [Memory of Melina Mercouri]. 
25 March [National Holiday].
18 April [International Monument Day].
18 May [International Museum Day].
5 June [International Day of Environment].
The last weekend of September [European Days of Cultural Heritage].
28 October [National Holiday].
The first Sunday of the month for the period between 1 November and 31 March.

Holidays

25 - 26 December: closed 
1 January: closed
Greek Orthodox Easter: closed 
1 May: closed


National Library of Greece

The National Library of Greece is situated near the centre of city of Athens. It was designed by the Danish architect Theophil Freiherr von Hansen, as part of his famous Trilogy of neo-classical buildings, including the Academy of Athens and the original building of the Athens University.

Academy of Athens

The main building of the Academy of Athens, one of Theophil Hansen's "Trilogy" is in central Athens.The Academy of Athens is Greece's national academy, and the highest research establishment in the country. It was established in 1926, and operates under the supervision of the Ministry of Education. The Academy's main building is one of the major landmarks of Athens.

National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, usually referred to as, the University of Athens, has been in continuous operation since its establishment in 1837. It was the first University, not only in the newly established Greek State but, in all the Balkans and the Eastern Mediterranean in general. Today, it is the second-largest institution of higher learning in Greece, with more than fifty thousand undergraduate students. It is one of the top-ranking universities in Greece, and ranked 177th in the world according to the Times Higher Education–QS World University Rankings 2009.

Panathenaic Stadium

The Panathenaic Stadium or Panathinaiko (also known as the Kallimarmaro meaning the "beautifully marbled"), is an athletic stadium in Athens that hosted the first modern Olympic Games in 1896. Reconstructed from the remains of an ancient Greek stadium, the Panathenaic is the only major stadium in the world built entirely of white marble(from Mount Penteli) and is one of the oldest in the world.

In ancient times, the stadium on this site was used to host the athletic portion of the Panathenaic Games, in honor of the Goddess Athena. During classical times, it had wooden seating. In 329 BC it was rebuilt in marble by the archon Lycurgus and in 140 AD was enlarged and renovated by Herodes Atticus, giving a seat capacity of 50,000.

Opening Hours

Dawn until sunset

Plaka

Pláka, is the old historical neighborhood of Athens, clustered around the northern and eastern slopes of the Acropolis, and incorporating labyrinthine streets and neoclassical architecture. Plaka sits on top of the residential areas of the ancient town of Athens. It is known as the "Neighbourhood of the Gods" due to its proximity to the Acropolis and its many archaeological sites.

Plaka is on the northeast slope of Acropolis, between Syntagma and Monastiraki square. Adrianou Street (running north and south) is the largest and most central street in Plaka and divides it into two areas: the upper level, - Ano Plaka - located right under the Acropolis and the lower level - Kato Plaka - situated between Syntagma and Monastiraki.

Plaka is visited by hundreds of thousands of tourists during the year, and is under strict zoning and conservation regulations, as the only neighborhood in Athens where all utilities (water, power, cable television, telephone, internet, and sewage) lie underground in fully accessible, custom-made tunneling. Motor vehicles are not allowed in Plaka, and most streets are too narrow, thus not being able to accommodate them.

Also in Plaka there’s the the Jewish Museum of Greece.

Excavations have proven that Adrianou Street is the oldest street in Athens still in continuous use with exactly the same layout since antiquity.

Monastiraki

Monastiraki [literally little monastery] is a flea market neighborhood in the old town of Athens, Greece, and is one of the principal shopping districts in Athens. The area is home to clothing boutiques, souvenir shops, and specialty stores, and is a major tourist attraction in Athens and Attica for bargain shopping. The area is named after Monastiraki Square, which in turn is named for the Pantanassa Church Monastery that is located within the square. The main streets of this area are Pandrossou Street and Adrianou Street.

In the vicinity of Monastiraki is the Synagogue of Athens.

Sounion

Cape Sounion is a promontory located 69 kilometres (43 mi) SSE of Athens, at the southernmost tip of the Attica peninsula in Greece.

Cape Sounion is noted as the site of ruins of an ancient Greek temple of Poseidon, the god of the sea in classical mythology. The remains are perched on the headland, surrounded by three sides of the sea. The ruins bear the deeply engraved name of English Romantic poet Lord Byron (1788–1824).

The site is a popular day-excursion for tourists from Athens, with sunset over the Aegean Sea, as viewed from the ruins, a sought-after spectacle.

Temple of Poseidon

Ancient Greek religion was essentially propitiatory in nature: i.e., based on the notion that to avoid misfortune, one must constantly seek the favour of the relevant gods by prayers, gifts and sacrifices. To the ancient Greek, every natural feature, e.g. hill, lake, stream or wood, was controlled by a god. For example, a person about to swim in a river,  would say a prayer to the river-god, or make an offering to that god's shrine, to avoid the chance of drowning. The gods were considered immortal, could change shape, become invisible and travel anywhere instantaneously. But in many other respects, they were considered similar to humans. They shared the whole range of human emotions, both positive and negative. Thus, in their attitudes towards humans, they could be both benevolent and malicious. As humans, they too, had family and clan hierarchies. They could even mate with humans, and produce demi-gods.

In a maritime country like Greece, the god of the sea was bound to occupy a high position in the divine hierarchy. In power, Poseidon was considered second only to Zeus (Jupiter), the supreme god himself. His implacable wrath, manifested in the form of storms, was greatly feared by all mariners. In an age without mechanical power, storms very frequently resulted in shipwrecks and drownings.

The temple at Cape Sounion, Attica, therefore, was a venue where mariners, and also entire cities or states, could propitiate Poseidon, by making animal sacrifice or leaving gifts.

Admission Fee

Full: € 4, Reduced: € 2

Opening Hours

Daily: 08.00 - sunset, last admission 30' prior to sunset

Lake Vouliagmeni

Very close to the sea, a rare geophysical formation is to be found that gave the suburb its modern name: Lake Vouliagmeni ["Sunken Lake"], a small brackish water lake fed by underground currents seeping through the mass of Mount Hymettus. It was once a large cavern that collapsed following an earthquake, probably during the early Middle Ages. The outline of the collapsed cavern roof can be clearly discerned from a distance. The lake stands at a 40 cm elevation, and its water maintains a constant 24 degrees Celsius temperature, year round. It continues deep inside the mountain in an underwater cave never fully explored, as its end seems impossible to trace even by employing sonar detection. Many underwater expeditions have been carried out, in order to chart it, and a few amateur divers have drowned trying. Because of its constant and comfortable water temperature, the lake functions as a year-round spa.

Syntagma Square

Syntagma Square (English: Constitution Square), is located in central Athens, Greece. The Square is named after the Constitution that King Otto was forced to grant to the people, after a popular military uprising on September 3, 1843. It is the oldest and socially most important square of post-Ottoman Athens, at the epicentre of all commercial activity throughout the nineteenth century.

The Greek Parliament is immediately across Amalias Avenue to the east, and surrounded by the extensive National Gardens, which are open to the public; the Parliament itself is not open to the public, even when not in session. Every hour, the changing of the guard ceremony, performed by the Presidential Guard, is conducted in front of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier on the area between the square and parliament. On Sundays and official holidays, the ceremonial changing of the guard takes place with an army band and the majority of the 120 Evzones present at 11am.

Temple of Olympian Zeus, Athens

The Temple of Olympian Zeus also known as the Olympieion or Columns of the Olympian Zeus, is a colossal ruined temple in the centre of the Greek capital Athens that was dedicated to Zeus, king of the Olympian gods. Construction began in the 6th century BC during the rule of the Athenian tyrants, who envisaged building the greatest temple in the ancient world, but it was not completed until the reign of the Roman Emperor Hadrian in the 2nd century AD some 638 years after the project had begun. During the Roman periods it was renowned as the largest temple in Greece and housed one of the largest cult statues in the ancient world.

The temple's glory was short-lived, as it fell into disuse after being pillaged in a barbarian invasion in the 3rd century AD. It was probably never repaired and was reduced to ruins thereafter. In the centuries after the fall of the Roman Empire, the temple was extensively quarried for building materials to supply building projects elsewhere in the city. Despite this, substantial remains remain visible today and it continues to be a major tourist attraction.

Arch of Hadrian

The Arch of Hadrian is a monumental gateway resembling – in some respects – a Roman triumphal arch. It  over an ancient road from the center of Athens, Greece, to the complex of structures on the eastern side of the city that included the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It has been proposed that the arch was built to celebrate the adventus (arrival) of the Roman Emperor Hadrian and to honor him for his many benefactions to the city, on the occasion of the dedication of the nearby temple complex in 131 or 132 AD. It is not certain who commissioned the arch, although, it is probable that the citizens of Athens or another Greek group were responsible for its construction and design. There were two inscriptions on the arch, facing in opposite directions, naming both Theseus and Hadrian as founders of Athens. While it is clear that the inscriptions honor Hadrian, it is uncertain whether they refer to the city as a whole or to the city in two parts: one old and one new. The early idea, however, that the arch marked the line of the ancient city wall, and thus the division between the old and the new regions of the city, has been shown to be false by further excavation. The arch is located 325m southeast of the Acropolis.